BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

on December 1, 2010

Kids’ Class

I hit on an idea for class today that changed the schedule around. The kids complained — but they always do — but I actually liked it. After the usual warmup, I had the oldest two, Theresa and Zack, go out on the mat, and then rotated everyone else through King of the Hill style, but with a 30-second time limit. First time through, everyone started in mount and had to submit, while Theresa and Zack had to get to guard. If either goal was accomplished, start over until time was up. Second time through, the roles were reversed. The kids fussed because those are the biggest two kids, but I put them out there because I trust both of them to not hurt the littler kids. I don’t trust the littler kids…

Then hitchhiker escape from armbar, which they did on me since they enjoy beating me up. I’d planned for another round of King of the Hill sparring, but by then we were already coming up on the close of class. So we ended with some ball sprawl and balancing drills, which they always like, too.

Seven kids tonight, but overall it went well. Some of that was because the dad of the twins & their sister called all three of them over and made them recite a little student creed that he’d concocted for his kids specifically for my class. The three of them were much better behaved. Also, in the other set of brothers, only one came; his brother was sick. So there wasn’t that sibling goofiness to deal with, either.

Nogi

Came in at the start of drilling. Double-under counter to sweep, then kimura or armlock. Drilled for over 30 minutes. With Theresa.

Then rolling, and Tim moved me over with Scott and told Scott to keep the pace high. So spent the first part of the roll trying to get back on top (and not succeeding), and mostly under side control, too. Then after a RNC finished me, he settled back some and let me attack mostly from not-bottom. That’s sometimes called “top,” but here it really wasn’t. He had me outside most of the time, and I couldn’t close to get any pressure. The few times I did close in, he threatened to or did sweep me; again, no pressure. No stopping, either. 5-10 min roll. Well, shoot — I’m tired now.

On the wall. Shoot and sprawl (4 times! ugh.), alligators (hate), 5 alligators + 5 burpees (WTF?! That’s just mean!), shrimping, crab walk forward, crab walk backwards. I ended up last on most everything. Could only do one trip of the alligator + burpees (seriously, what you smoking? That’s not right in anyone’s book.). Then everyone finished the backwards crab walk when I still had a lap left. I did it anyway. Slow, and things hurt, but I am the most stubborn thing on the mat. (I know, this is doing nothing for my “resting.” I don’t care. Will finish.) Why this all so hard? Crap.

Scott talked to me afterwards. He said to watch for when someone fails on a submission. At that moment, attack. Drive to get on top.


Even after a meeting with the overseas team this morning, and even after adding “must match exactly” in the test, they still passed a test where the message did not match. At least they were helpful and wrote out the incorrect message so we could find it… but they still passed it. *headdesk*

8 responses to “Wednesday, December 1, 2010

  1. Neil says:

    Kinaton is going to yell at you.

    But seriously, doing hard workouts now is actively making your performance at the tournament worse. You’re smart, you know this!

  2. Neil says:

    Also, has anyone stopped to check whether they think ‘pass’ means ‘we did this test’ as opposed to something to do with the result? 😀

  3. Anne says:

    Yeah, the week before the tournament is not the time to kill yourself and make yourself sore. Go move around if you absolutely have to, but by now, you’ve put in the work you need to succeed.

    Good luck!

  4. leslie says:

    @Neil: I know. *hangs head* But I want to train!

    I’m definitely a one-marshmallow kid.

    Re: the testers: They do fail some. Sometimes. And sometimes, none. There’s no consistency!

    @Anne: Thanks 🙂

  5. Kintanon says:

    @Leslie: I can’t yell at you TOO much, I do the same stuff because I can’t stand a day that doesn’t involve some good Jits, BUT you have to grit your teeth and REST before tournaments if you want to drive your enemies before you and hear the lamentations of their women (or men).

    Rest And Recovery are IMPORTANT!!
    http://sportsmedicine.about.com/od/sampleworkouts/a/RestandRecovery.htm

    Just as important as diet and conditioning. All of the awesome diet and great conditioning in the world won’t help you if you have run your reserves down to nothing by training super hard all the way up to 10 seconds before your division starts.

  6. leslie says:

    @Kintanon: The sad thing is that I really do know this and would recommend rest & recovery to anyone else. But I can’t seem to apply it to myself… :/

    I even have some inside info on who my competitors Saturday are likely to be, and I know they’ll all be tough fights and I’ll need everything, and I still can’t get myself to sit still when there’s a mat avilable… *le sigh*

  7. Kintanon says:

    That’s why you need a COACH as well as an INSTRUCTOR. The person who is teaching you jits isn’t always the best person to help you prepare for a tournament. They have an entire class of people to take care of and can’t really devote themselves to you. You must have some higher belt or more senior blue belt who is kind of a mentor to you at the school, right? Talk to them about being your tournament “Coach” and helping you manage your training and rest periods and stuff. That way they will help you enforce your rest periods. When you come to class the two weeks before a tournament you two try to roll together as much as possible and keep it super light, and work on your tournament gameplan.

  8. Aparna says:

    Seriously…rest will do you WONDERS. It’s a bit late now, but next time, just don’t go to class at all if you can’t resist rolling when you’re there. Maybe once or twice in the week before the tournament, and then only with people like Theresa, who can’t accidently hurt you or make you sore.

Comments are closed.
