BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Telling my body what to do

on November 12, 2010

If I didn’t have a routine, I would have easily slept today away. Tired. Hurt. Just plain wore out. But — up, coffee, breakfast, pack lunch, shower, pack jiu-jitsu bag, drive, work, eat, work, drive, train. It’s on the list, it’s the same every day; time to do it. Body started off the day off dragging, so the whole day was me ordering it around.

And then training continued in the same way: body trying to go limp and floppy and whiny; me telling it what I wanted done. And surprisingly, it listened for the most part.

We started in the ring until the kickboxing class needed it, then moved to the jiu-jitsu mat that they’d been using, then moved back to the ring when the cardio class showed up on our mat and the kids’ TKD class had taken over the front mat. Until we got settled back in the ring, I rolled with Will to warmup. (In which “warmup” = losing the last reserves of energy. Lovely.) That was mostly just playing around, trying to move and feel and wake my brain and body up.

Then we started training rounds. 3 rounds standing only. Will, Andrew, then Justin. 5 minute rounds. They felt like forever! Small breaks in between. Mostly me getting manhandled every which way and dumped frequently by Will and Justin. Drop seoi nage‘d again. Had a flash of recognition this time, though, and tucked my head better, so I didn’t land on my head. And see, here is me tired — I know that I don’t know any judo throws except in theory, and yet here I am resorting to completely wrong attempts at judo throws when I really do know better; should stick with the few takedowns that I do know. I did do those some, but should have fought to them more. Also, absolutely must not allow them to get grips; breaking them is much harder than preventing them, and Justin worked me through that many many times (where he’d only defend my grips for a few seconds, and then would counter with grips of his own to see if I’d catch on yet; then repeat a few more times until I finally started getting it). Afterwards, he had a few tips on my takedowns, too.

Then started standing but went quickly to the ground and continued from there. Will, Justin, then Andrew. 5 minute rounds again. These felt short. Will and Andrew let me take them down; Justin probably judo tossed me again. Now everything gets mostly fuzzy. I remember that I did some things good, some things still way too slow. I also remember what was going on in my head — I was singing in my head to a couple of songs, with occasional commands to my body (“Roll back to guard!”, “Pass his guard!”, “clear that arm!”, “mount!”, “underhook!” and the like). My body would scramble to comply, and seemed to do quite well. I was getting positions. Huh. Hips were still too light overall, but seemed maybe a little heavier than the rest of the week.

Then I got a break while the guys rolled amongst themselves. One last round with Justin again. This involved that same blasted straight foot lock escape from last night. He paused again to go over it once more. Bah! It’s really much more simple if you can just avoid the foot lock in the first place…. This round was largely slower, too, and he was letting me play a lot and escape.

Class in the morning, then likely a trip to the library and a long afternoon of naps.

2 responses to “Telling my body what to do

  1. Kintanon says:

    I play music in my head when rolling a LOT. My best rolling is usually done when I hit a good distracting series of music and my jiujitsu becomes more of a dance than a fight.

  2. leslie says:

    @Kintanon: I think that’s exactly how it worked. I am, however, not a great dancer, and for exactly the same reason — I don’t feel where my partner is going, and I end up trying to lead too much. … … Huh. … … So it’s all the same problem…. This bears more thought (outside of class, of course).

Comments are closed.
