BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

on October 19, 2010

So, this huge project that we’re on at work has a hard go-live date in early November. We must be done with all our designing and coding and testing by then. Our project manager has put a copy of the timeline up on the wall and written “The Miracle” over it. So, um, yeah, it’s gonna take every last available second, probably, to pull this thing off on time. Lovely.

And yet, some people at the client absolutely do not understand that. They think they still have time to change things before the go-live date, so we’re constantly getting change requests. My manager had a meeting with one of these ladies yesterday and finally succeeded in explaining to her that the change she wants cannot be done before the go-live date; sometime soon after, but not before. She said that was fine but that they’ve already hired the people who will be using this change, so she asked him to talk to the managers of these new people and explain the issue to them. Well, he went to talk to them, and they. freaked. out. These people are already hired! Whaddya mean they won’t be able to do their jobs on the go-live date? Fine, just set up the current system to let them access it… The appropriate software engineer was consulted, and he said that it would take over 2 months of work — even if he didn’t have to work around his role in setting up the new system — to implement this change in the current system… and by then the new system will already be up and running. So my manager got the pleasure of meeting with these two managers for a very long time today and trying to explain why there isn’t enough time to get this change in before the deadline.


At least for the moment, my workload has eased a little and I’m managing a test run rather than having to get everything done myself. So today I got a little blog housekeeping done. I’ve taken down my Techniques page, at least for now; I’m debating putting it back up. On the one hand, it’s a good index for me; but on the other, I don’t do a good job keeping up with it. It hadn’t been updated since May. Thoughts, anyone?

Also did some polishing on the Resources page, adding a “Reviews” section and starting a list of everyone’s gi, equipment, DVD, books, seminar, and tournament reviews. Polished the Dos and Don’ts page, taking out a few “idiot”s and “stupid”s. (I realized in re-reading it today that I must have been very, very cranky when I originally wrote it.)


In early. Warmed up good with some mobility work again. (Drat, forgot the alphabets. I knew there was something.) Then did a Tabata with prisoner squats and pushups. Hmm. Maybe too easy. I think next time I’ll do a pushup Tabata first and then a separate squat Tabata. Still had ~45 minutes before class to recover, so just did some light stretching and a few drills.

Justin wanted to roll to warm up before class. ~15 minutes. He would wait and let me climb all over him — even let me pretend I was breakdancing on his back at one point — and then would find the off-balance point and tip me right over. Lots of sneaky footlocks, ankle locks, and heel hooks, too.

Class started with rolling. With Big Jon first. He controlled everything. But he’d launch an attack just before he had the position completely secured, and I’d have just enough space to survive and defend. (I couldn’t do anything about it, but I could see what he was missing.) Still got trapped in several things. Then a round with Theresa.

Before we moved on to drilling, Justin gave a quick talk to the class about tapping (and why how many people you tap is unimportant) and about securing positions before attacking. Too many of the guys, he said, were too concerned with attacking & getting that tap and so were scrambling through everything and were just hoping to catch something. Basically, that they were all just trying to get lucky, he said. And he pointed out that anyone can get lucky, but that that’s unimportant. Consistency is important.

Drilling was review from last night. Drilled with Theresa, then rolled with her.

Last roll with Yoshi. And had something like an out-of-body experience. I was attacking. A lot. Often. And transitioning between attacks and positions. And staying on top. Somehow took his back right near the beginning and tried an Ezekiel (realized afterwards that my elbow wasn’t far enough across. Silly short arms.). Then transitioned to mount as he escaped, and then went between a brabo, D’Arce, head-and-arm choke, north/south kimura, Big Poppa, and back again, with transitions from half-guard to side control to north/south to knee-on-belly as needed. Used parts of the pass from two weeks ago, plus Scott’s tip on heavy hips, and by golly it worked! Who is this? What is this? That went on for a good while, but then the roll continued even longer and I started to get tiiiired. My left hand lost all grips, and the arm itself had little strength. Yoshi started trying to do the Tornado Guard sweep (Lord help us all when he gets it down.) and other half guard sweeps, so he started really focusing on staying in bottom half and not letting me pass so he could play with them. So then I started getting swept a lot. Wait, he even got my back at one point; I turned in, and he found a way to make it a triangle, but I did that defense that Andrew Smith showed me and that Tim has also worked with me on, and I actually escaped his triangle. Whoa. This doesn’t happen every day. Finally, when I was well on my way to becoming so much mat pizza, time was called.

Okay: sleep.

13 responses to “Tuesday, October 19, 2010

  1. Kintanon says:

    VIIICCCTOOORRRRYY!!!

    Congrats. Now you know what happens when your brain finally sorts out all the stuff you’ve been learning and working on and feeds it to your body. Of course, now you’ll have the inevitable two week long OMFG NOTHING WORKS RIGHT period where you try to force things. Then you’ll be having nights like the above all the time.

  2. @Leslie – BJJ has it’s own language. It is one of the things I still struggle with. I remember my instructor telling be to do something while I was rolling. In my mind, I was saying, “When I finaly get this big dude off of me, I’m going to have to ask him what that means!!” When I get confused over the names of techniques, or simply want to review them, I go to your techniques page. So definitly keep it. Reformat it if you like, but it is very helpful.

    I like the idea of a review section. That should also be helpful. As far as the “idiots” and “stupids”, I never noticed them. But that is probably because I’m a hard-headed stupid idiot white belt sometimes. 😉

    I’m glad you had a good day rolling. Especially after rubber guard dude / rubber chicken dude / Captain Caveman.

    @Kintanon – The “OMFG NOTHING WORKS RIGHT PERIOD” is very frustrating… 😦

  3. jen says:

    Your blog provides such an awesome resources- I’m going to check out the changes to Resources & Do’s & Dont’s. Thanks! PS – the Tabata format is my favorite type of workout.

  4. leslie says:

    @Kintanon: Wait, it’s only supposed to last for two weeks?! Crap. Mine’s generally closer to 2 months…

    @Jodi: ‘K, I’ll polish the Techniques page and get it back up.

    @Jen: I like Tabatas, too, because I can tell myself that it’s only for 20 seconds. Though usually after a few rounds, I’m checking the timer to see if it’s broken! 😛

  5. Kintanon says:

    It will be shorter this time around. You can shorten it up even more by forgetting that night ever happened and just relaxing. I had the WORST month of my jits career after one really really awesome couple of days. Everything flowed great those two days, then I started trying to force those same combos and same sequences and I just couldn’t get them to work again, so I kept trying to force it, and kept on and kept on… Super frustrating. I’ve since learned that it’s better to just to see those nights as a preview of how good I’ll be in 2 months and keep on doing what I’m doing instead of trying to recreate that magic through force.

  6. Alex says:

    Has your company looked into Agile development methods such as Scrum? It may help handle clients that keep changing requirements through out a project easier to deal with. My company is currently moving from Waterfall development to Agile/Scrum and we are seeing some very good results.

  7. BJJ Judo says:

    The scenerio you discribe at work is so common it is scary, especially as year end system freezes approach. It is as if no one knows how to read a calendar! I feel your pain.

  8. leslie says:

    @Alex: I don’t know how the development cycle is handled, but I do think most of this project is the client’s fault — they’re a big company, and they hardly did any internal requirements at all. Only recently have some departments found out about this project and how it will affect them, and they don’t like the way the PMs decided their stuff would behave.

    (There’s also the fact that our PMs don’t want to tell this company “No” because they’re one of our larger contracts. They’re afraid that if they don’t promise and deliver the moon that this client will fire us. So most everyone there is used to us performing miracles.)

    Also, we had our side of the project pretty much nailed in no time. However, there was a second company that was hired to write the backend programs; they were eventually fired from the project because they weren’t getting anywhere, and their part was dumped on us. Completely new software and programming rules that our developers didn’t know and had to learn, but none of the deadlines were changed. In fact, I think the deadlines were moved up 😮

    Then there’s another external team that was hired to “help” us, and they’ve been much better at breaking things than fixing them.

    So, yeah, lots and lots of issues…

    @BJJ Judo: Or as if everyone believes that they’re exempt from such things. 😛

  9. Kintanon says:

    Oh come on! It’s just a simple little change. I don’t see why we can’t have the software send my laundry out every thursday at 2 and pick it up again friday morning. Even my intern can do that! I’m sure this five million dollar software package can manage it. You developers are just lazy.

  10. leslie says:

    @Kintanon: And of course you submitted this request yesterday, and the software ships tomorrow. 😛

    Actual quote from an early-in-the-project meeting with these folks:
    “It is exciting to see this on the screen, almost built!” – commenting on wire-frame diagrams (prior to any code being designed, let alone written)

  11. Kintanon says:

    Of course, today I was on the other side of that equation. After scheduling the upgrade of our clients systems like 3 months ago to be this weekend the vendor calls me and tells me that they forgot to get the physical media shipped to the site, so they have to reschedule for next week. AARRGGGGH.

  12. I’ve been on the user side of software change this month. I’ve been in the medical field for over 20 years, so I’ve been through quite a few. I used get anxious when they even mentioned change. Now, I just kick back and laugh at the managers who set up the parameters for the program. They only thought they new what my job entails. They get way more anxious than I ever did.

    So every time you get frustrated with the monkey that’s making all the changes, just remember their is a monkey like me ROFLMAO at that other monkey.

    Take care,
    Jodi

  13. slideyfoot says:

    I never tire of your resources page, especially the way you keep it updated. Love, love, love good indexing. 😀

Comments are closed.
