BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

on October 13, 2010

Kids’ Class

The usual crew wasn’t there, so the night was fairly quiet with just 3 kids. But, of course, all my stuff was then scaled for 5-6. *le sigh* Had to change a few things on the fly, but it all worked out. I nearly bailed on the second technique of the night because two of the kids didn’t have gi tops, but then realized that they’re choking me with my lapel. Also, they all looked very excited to find out that you can use the gi to choke people.

Nogi Class

I compared my new FighterGirl shorts to the smaller of my current pairs; turns out that measurement-wise, the new pairs are actually larger. Huh. So, they’re here to stay. Wore one of them tonight. My weight is still being weird; it bounced back up on the weekend because I ate all the food in sight (and lots of junk food, so extraneous calories), and then a couple of pounds dropped off from yesterday to today, so the shorts were even almost too big tonight. I just want things to make sense and work…

Started with rolling, 4-minute rounds. With Theresa, Tim, Will, James, and Steve. Bah, everything felt the same — butt glued to floor. Could not get up or out or anything decent. Trying sweeps, and just got flattened every time. Will was working rubber guard and omoplatas on me.

Drilling was von Flue choke, starting from defending a standing guillotine. Drilled with Theresa until I couldn’t take being choked any more.

More rolling. Not timed this time. With Big Tommy, James, and Will. (Tim was helping make sure I wasn’t left out.) Same. Sweeps wouldn’t work, hooks weren’t doing much good; guard got passed like nothing. Tried to remember things — get on top, abandon ship if they trap both knees, distance in half guard, etc. — but none of it seemed to do much good. Still shredded like I wasn’t even there. Most frustrating is that they (and the guys earlier) were giving me space and lighter pressure, and I could tell they were, and I still couldn’t do anything with it. The littlest thing seems to thwart me.


Link: Workout Structure For Fighters: An End To Traditional Training

22 responses to “Wednesday, October 13, 2010

  1. Kintanon says:

    A couple of questions occurred to me earlier tonight, and I thought I’d throw it out here since you have a larger female readership than I do.
    1. Do you (Girls doing jiujitsu) lift weights? If not, why not? (Warning, if I am not satisfied with your answer there will be a lecture)
    2. Do any of you find it creepy if the guys in the gym are always asking to roll with you.

    The first question was sparked by a 14 year old girl complaining that everyone was stronger than she was. I asked if she lifted weighs, or had any plans to, and she said no. So I told her she wasn’t allowed to complain about the strength difference since she wasn’t doing anything to change it.

    The second question was sparked by a comment from one of the guys I train with when I was talking about how girls in jiujitsu have a hard time getting people to roll with them. He said he didn’t want to seem creepy by asking the girls to roll with him, so he waited for them to ask. Well, none of the girls on here seem willing to speak up and request rolls with the guys. So it’s definitely a good thing our coach assigns rolling partners or our girls would never get to roll with anyone except each other and me…

  2. @ Leslie – The Von Flue Choke sounds very interesting, however, I had a difficult time following. It’s not your explaination. It’s my lack of experience. Do you think you could get a video of it? Pretty please πŸ˜‰

    @ Kintanon – 1. Weight training is very important for women. By nature, we don’t have the upper body strength that is used in BJJ. Studies also show that women that weight / resistance train, and / or take up boxing have a higher bone density. This in turn helps reduce the risk / effects of osteoporosis in later years. Me on the other hand, I don’t weight train. (hold the lecture) I love weight training, but I lift people for a living. I work in a level one trauma center. So, I’m always moving heavy people. (Lift, slide, pull, push) That along with the BJJ takes more and more recovery time the older I get. So, you are correct to encourage weight training in women.
    2. It makes me happy when the guys ask me to roll. I feel like I’m one of the guys, like I belong. It’s very unnerving to walk into a huge room full of guys, let alone ask one to work with you. Some guys have religious beliefs that may conflict with co-ed training. Other guys have crazy, jealous significant others. Then there are those sweet guys that forgot their cup and should really wear one when training with women. (Leslie, did I say that right?) So, I’m not thinking about creepy, I’m thinking about training.

    Back @ Leslie – If the weight fluctuation continues, make an appointment with your Dr. Talk to him about testing your thyroid. Also explain to him that you train in BJJ and are frequently choked 😦 … Maybe you should say have something along the lines of, “some manuevers require pressure to be place on that area of your neck.” πŸ˜‰

    P.S. I apologize for any spelling or grammar errors that I may make. I have written in medical short hand for so long that I forget what English is sometimes.

  3. You and I have already talked about this elsewhere- but I used to lift weights, and don’t any more because I just don’t have time. If I have a choice between lifting weights vs going to a BJJ class, or lifting weights vs working on forms that my kung fu teacher wants to see me perform in two days, the weights are going to lose. I do, however, make a point of trying to be conscious of how I can work lifting/pushing/carrying stuff into my regular day. The modern world is set up to encourage people to do NOTHING physically. We don’t get up and walk across the room to change the TV channel, because we have remotes. We don’t crank down the window in our car, because it’s automatic and goes up and down at the touch of a button. We don’t carry our own buckets of cat litter from the supermarket to the car because there are carts to trundle it out there and bag boys to do that for us. We don’t even have to push open a damn door, because almost every business has an automatic door. I try to do everything the hard way, to get at least a little “weight lifting” into every day of my life.

  4. As far as guys not wanting to seem “creepy”… you know what- if you are creepy, we will figure that out pretty quick. Women have a radar for that sort of thing; we read the nuances of your body language, facial expression, what you say. If you are a decent guy, we’re not going to think you’re creepy for inviting us to roll. If you want to roll with us so that you can try to cop a feel, or so that you can play dirty movie reels in your head while you’re lying on top of us, WE CAN TELL. We will henceforth avoid you, and say no thanks to your invites to roll. So my message to the decent guys is don’t worry about it. And to the Dirty Old (or Young) Men: you’re not fooling anyone, so stay the hell away from us.

    Please feel free to quote me to any of the guys you train with! πŸ™‚

  5. ~Kat~ says:

    I agree with the above comments- Girls have a special CREEP radar- I would much rather be asked on occasion too- versus always being the one asking…ends up being a pity roll or something, it doesn’t work for either one of us.

    As for weight training- I have been doing that for years. I have two medical conditions that make it virtually impossible for me to lose weight. YES= I work ridiculously hard to be a chubby 160 versus a huge 300. I would still love to lose another 20- but essentially it may require surgery (not completely out of the question yet) πŸ™‚

    Speaking of training- here is a great video on how a female Jiu Jitsu competitor trains-

    (WARNING- video has sound and the lyrics are not censored.)

  6. Anne says:

    1. Do you (Girls doing jiujitsu) lift weights?

    Yes. Though not year-round. I periodize my cross training between weights, sprints, and other functional exercises, depending on how close I am to a tournament. The further out, the more I lift, and the heavier I lift.

    2. Do any of you find it creepy if the guys in the gym are always asking to roll with you.

    No. I have a lot of good guy training partners. None of them are creepy. A lot of the guys like to roll with the girls, because a lot of us are smaller blue belts, and guys use us to work their technique.

    I’m also not afraid to call out guys to roll. At the same time, I’m not afraid to say no to guys who are too rough or creepy (if this was the case). I also avoid their looks, to make sure they don’t catch my eye and try to roll with me. There are enough good training partners on any given day to not have to train with bad ones.

  7. Aparna says:

    1. Do you (Girls doing jiujitsu) lift weights? If not, why not?
    I used to do weights. Then I did CrossFit this summer (but didn’t train BJJ) and found I got way stronger than weightlifting the way I used to. I don’t have time between school and jiu jitsu to continue CrossFit, but we do have a fitness class I try to go to when I can. And I know I really should work on my upper body strength because I’m pathetically weak (as in I can barely do a pull-up), but if I had to choose between weights and BJJ, well…

    2. Do any of you find it creepy if the guys in the gym are always asking to roll with you.
    Not really, although I don’t really get many guys asking to roll…I’m not really a popular training partner =\

  8. Kintanon says:

    “Back @ Leslie – If the weight fluctuation continues, make an appointment with your Dr. Talk to him about testing your thyroid. Also explain to him that you train in BJJ and are frequently choked 😦 … Maybe you should say have something along the lines of, β€œsome manuevers require pressure to be place on that area of your neck.” ;)”

    @Leslie and @CombatSportsReview – Weight fluctuations of 3-5lbs during the day or from day to day are normal and should not be something to worry about. My weight swooshes between 143lbs and 150lbs depending on what I’ve been doing during the day, how much I’ve eaten, etc… A piddling 2 lb bounce up or down is nothing. Even when I weighed 135lbs it wasn’t uncommon for me to bounce between 131 and 137.

    Also, most of you girls need to go ahead and bump up a weight class. All of you are like 125lbs, tiny stickity things. Get some meat on you! >:)

  9. leslie says:

    @Kintanon:

    1. Lift weights?

    Not structured, i.e., not following any program. I play around with kettlebells and the Oly bar some nights before/after class, but that’s all. I got in to BJJ from lifting, though, so I’m all for girls lifting heavy stuff. Why not? — mostly a time issue. Also, I only have so much energy and concentration to go around for skill work each day, and I’d rather spend it on jiu-jitsu.

    2. Creepy?

    No, not at all. Asking me to roll isn’t creepy. Being creepy is creepy. πŸ˜› As the other girls have said, we already know someone’s creepy (or not) before he asks us to roll. (Or spazzy, or desperate to tap a higher belt, or smells bad, or whatever.)

    I have no creepy guys currently, but I have had. And I just made sure to be on the other side of the room from him at all times.

  10. leslie says:

    @Jodi: Here’s a video of the von Flue from a guard guillotine. Very effective choke. πŸ˜€

    I tried to find it done exactly the way we did it above, but I couldn’t find a good enough video.

    (Skip all the standing description above, and start in side control with someone still hanging on to a guillotine. Get your normal side control posture, being sure that the outside arm covers their forearm/wrist so they can’t pull it out.)

  11. leslie says:

    @Kintanon:

    Also, most of you girls need to go ahead and bump up a weight class. All of you are like 125lbs, tiny stickity things. Get some meat on you! >:)

    Lol, but then I’d have to lift weights lots! Those girls bigger than me are strong! πŸ˜›

    When you’re already a tiny thing, I think weight fluctuations are smaller. πŸ™‚ I have a range of 125 – 130 that I normally bounce around in; that never bothers me. But these last drops have gone from 125ish (normally my lowest normal walking-around weight and not often seen on the morning scale) down to 120, without me changing anything that I can tell. I actually tried to get the same effect over the summer, and the scale never budged down. And now when I want to maintain, I can’t keep weight on for trying. So it’s just mostly frustrating.

    Sounds like I might have to go back to tracking my food and lifting again. More to keep track of. Urgh.

    (And more annoying here when I’m trying to decide if these shorts fit — they might fit right now when I’m smaller than normal, but what about when I get back to normal? They might be too small. Argh! This is why women are insane all the time. ;))

  12. @ Leslie – VIDEO – ROFLMAO!!!! Now I really want to learn that choke!!! Thanks for the visual. BTW, your blog is really busy this morning πŸ™‚

  13. @ Kintanon – tiny stickity things – hehe πŸ˜‰
    I worked last night, going to sleep now.

  14. Aparna says:

    @Kintanon: If you think 125 is a “tiny stickity thing,” you don’t want to know what I weigh…I’m definitely in the “super-scrawny twig” category.

  15. Kintanon says:

    @ Leslie: Your weight drop is most likely your metabolics catching up to you. Increased muscle mass, stress, sleep patterns, all kinds of stuff. Don’t worry about it. And you SHOULD be lifting weight like mad. A program like 5/3/1 or Stronglifts 5×5 doesn’t take a lot of time if you have the equipment. My charge to all of you womens is this:

    Make lifting weights a PRIORITY. All kinds of things in your life get easier when you are stronger.

  16. MC says:

    @Kintanon:
    1. I used to lift regularly, but found that when I started to train bjj intensely, my body was too tired to get through my programs. I didn’t want to lift lighter weight, so I quit altogether. I am planning to start again since I think my body had adjusted to the strain, I feel that I’m weaker in certain muscle groups now, and I want to give my game the additional edge more strength provides.
    2. What Leslie said.

    I’d encourage all women to weight train, but I think I talking to the choir here. Having had some extremely time consuming jobs, sometimes it’s just not possible to make even a little time. When I want to spend the least amount of time as possible in the gym and still weight train, I do a deadlift routine once a week, which is about half an hour. I find that the most efficient and enjoyable thing.

  17. Kintanon says:

    I’m gonna talk a little smack at you guys because of what MC said about time consuming jobs.

    I leave my house at 8am, I work until around 6:30 on days that I have jiujitsu. I then train jits from around 7 to around 9. I get back home at 10pm. That’s wed and fri. On Mon I teach the UGA Grappling club, so I’m out until 11. On Sundays I go horseback riding usually from around 2-3 in the afternoon until around 6.
    On days when I don’t have jits I usually end up working until 7 and not getting home until 8 assuming I don’t have anything else I have to do.
    I lift weights 4 days a week. Tues,Thurs,Sat, and Sun.

    This is in addition to maintaining my relationship with my fiance, planning our wedding, taking care of 5 dogs and 2 horses, and doing maintenance on my house and my cars.

    I am a BUSY DUDE. If I can make time to lift, you guys can to. Make it a priority. Dig up a little cash and go buy a bench with detachable posts and a couple hundred pounds of weight. Buy an IronGym pullup bar, they’re cheap. Make it a priority to get stronger. The benefits are just too good not to go for it.

  18. @ Kintanon – wait til you through a couple of curtain climbers ( kids) into the mix. It’ll turn your world upside down, but in a good way.

  19. MC says:

    @Kintanon:
    You leave your house at 8am? Hahahahahahaha!

    Ever leave your house at 5:30am and get home at 10pm and spend all the hours in between at work? Ever work 36 hours straight? How about shifts from midnight to 7am and 12-5pm for several days while attempting to stay function for the times in between? Spend 18 or 20 waking hours a day dedicated to your job, and have your sleep interrupted by a fire alarm? Join the military my friend; then talk to me about busy.

  20. MC says:

    But at the moment, I obviously don’t work nearly that much, since I have time to do things like make fun of your idea of being busy on Leslie’s blog. And as a consequence, my health and wellness are also much better than during those times.

  21. Aparna says:

    @MC: LMAO I was about to say, you do all that now!?!? Man, I thought vet school sucked…

  22. Kintanon says:

    @ MC: If you’re in the military you should be getting all the PT you can handle anyways. As for kids, I made the conscious (And irreversible) choice not to have any and that was one of my considerations when doing so.

    But my point stands. If you have time to do jiujitsu, and post on the internet, then you have time to lift weights for 20 minutes, 4x a week. So do it.

Comments are closed.
