BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Monday, September 13, 2010

on September 13, 2010

I finally get my Blogroll page updated to incorporate all the new blogs, and then more start popping up! This is crazy.

A few of the kids were there before their class started, and they came over and tackled me while I was stretching and loosening up. One of them told me that it would be better if they could have grappling class every night so that I could be their teacher. Awww! (But, erm, don’t let your TKD instructor hear you say that, yeah?)

Everyone who came in early tonight wanted to talk about Yoshi’s fight. He was back in tonight, too. Now he’s 8 weeks out from his next fight.

Warmup — around the mat, then circled up. Then on the wall for a few drills. Partnered up for armbar from mount. Worked with Theresa and Sarah, so I actually got to drill on Sarah a little, then let them both work on me. My technique stunk. I haven’t drilled in so long, I felt clumsy and sloppy. Falling off, not tight, bah. At least I could explain what was going on so they could do it.

One short roll, with Theresa.

Back to drilling. Side control escape back to guard. After we’d done that for a while, then he added a gi choke. Worked with Sarah and Theresa again.

One more round of rolling. One guy had left, though, which gave us an odd number, so I had to sit out.

Then on the wall for a little more conditioning.


At work, we’re so close to being done, but now we’re at the point where every time we fix one thing, we break something else, but we don’t always catch it. For example, if Bug A is at the beginning of the queue and we fix it, then to test we only listen to the beginning of the queue… except that fix created Bug B, which only occurs when the queue begins to loop again… *le sigh* I’m not sure that it is, but it feels as if a lot of these are my fault since I’m doing a lot of testing. I think I’m being thorough — creating spreadsheets of tests and even writing out my retests in full before starting them (my manager does them on the fly) and fully documenting my results — but I seem to be missing important things every time. And I have so much work that I’m not even sure where to start. I feel slow and clumsy there, too.

Sometimes I wish I’d gone in to some other field, where I didn’t have to sit at a desk in front of a computer all day. I want to create something and have it there, visible, at the end of the day. Instead, I tap keys that create pixels, and when I leave each night, the screen is just black and blank. Sometimes, it doesn’t seem like I really did anything.

2 responses to “Monday, September 13, 2010

  1. Kintanon says:

    When I was a network admin I sometimes felt the same way. My job was to babysit 25-30 servers and all but 2 of them only existed as development servers. So all I really did all day was reboot them so that my bootstrap setup would return them to their default clean state so the developers could run their tests again in a clean environment. OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER. I did that for over a year. Talk about a work TREADMILL. At least the developers had milestones and closed bugs and stuff. I just had an eternity of endless server reboots.
    I occasionally have a nightmare that I’m still working there…

  2. leslie says:

    @Kintanon: It’s days like that that make me glad I get to choke people every night 0:).

Comments are closed.
