BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

What I’ve been reading, July & August 2010

on September 2, 2010

Uh-oh, I forgot about these!

  • The Mirror of Her Dreams and A Man Rides Through, Stephen Donaldson. I usually can’t reread books — I remember how everything’s related and works out. But Donaldson’s books are complex enough that I actually do reread them often and even read them slowly, whereas usually I can plow through books of this length in a night or two.
  • The Elenium: The Diamond Throne, The Ruby Knight, and The Sapphire Rose, David Eddings. Unlike Donaldson’s, these are books I can fly through. I enjoyed them all the same, though. (Eddings’ The Redemption of Althalus is my favorite of his.)
5 responses to “What I’ve been reading, July & August 2010

  1. Kintanon says:

    I just finished a re-read of the Elenium a couple of months ago. I’m reading LE Modesitt’s “Spellsong” books now. They are a little longer and a little deeper than Eddings’ stuff, but still what I would consider MindCandy.
    I remember Donaldson’s series about the guy with Leprosy being incredibly deep and at times disturbing, but excellent none the less.
    I approve of your book choices and offer you an opportunity to acquire the Roy Dean Purple Belt fundamentals videos from me. Send me an email for the link if you so desire.

  2. Jen Stewart says:

    I’ll turn 40 in 23 days (but who’s counting?), so I just started Age is Just a Number by Dara Torres. Inspiring so far.

  3. Georgette says:

    I read the Belgariad and the Mallorean when I was in high school and have reread them a few times since. *sigh* I always wished they’d written more of them!

  4. leslie says:

    @Kintanon: I’ve read the Spellsong saga, and also like them.

    I’m eagerly waiting for the last book in The Last Chronicles of Thomas Covenant. !! (His most disturbing series, IMO, is the Gap series. I’m not sure how I even managed to get through the whole thing, and I don’t think I can ever read it again.)

    @Jen: Cool, I haven’t read that one yet.

    @Georgette: I think I’ve just read Belgariad; the library is missing 1 or 2 from the Mallorean. They’re also missing book 2 of the Tamuli, and I just finished book 1 last night. *le sigh*

  5. Kintanon says:

    Uhhh… I have the Ebooks for all of those, but for it to really be MindCandy you have to be able to curl up in a corner with the physical paper book. Anything else reminds me too much of work.

Comments are closed.
