BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

on August 17, 2010

Saturday was Jennie’s wedding shower here in town, so I didn’t train. Half the guests were her out-of-town family, and half were out-of-town college friends. We college friends ended up spending the entire afternoon and late into the evening together catching up. Headed over to the college, too, to a favorite restaurant and our old bar (which has moved next door, to where the preppy frat bar used to be… and it has now become a preppy frat bar. Sadness.). Good day.

Monday, my friend Angela and I left early for Carowinds, an amusement park on the border between North Carolina and South Carolina. As you enter the park, you can walk along the border. That always amused me as a kid, and it apparently still does. 🙂 It’s a small park, size-wise, but they pack a lot of roller coasters in there. We rode most, though I only made a couple of runs before I was too motion sick to continue, so I’d wait in line with Angela and then step across and exit. Sadness. I love roller coasters, but I get motion sick so easily (even sometimes when I am driving). But, we still had a great time. The sky was overcast and the lines were short.

Tonight, I had a chiropractor appointment (wonderful!). Mentioned to him that my upper lower back is hurting; I can never seem to get it loose, and it was even tender when he started poking around. I think it’s from Jessy’s body triangle at the tournament. Then a hair appointment.

Class started with a little warmup. Jogging, knees up, heels back, turning in, turning out, bear crawls. On the wall: single legs, shoot ‘n’ sprawl, alligators, forward rolls, crab walk both ways, squat jumps (could only get 1 run here — posterior chain not engaging. Need to do work on that.).

Then Tim sent four guys out onto the four blue squares for King of the Hill. Some people can’t even stand to “lose” on these sorts of drills, and so hang back. I don’t understand that; I’m out there every round I can get. Though, having some trouble breathing tonight; never felt like I could get a lungfull of air.

Then a round of rolling, with Jess. I worked on armbars from mount. One more round, with Blue Belt Buddy. I strongly suspect he’s going easy on me, so I’ll have to talk to him about that. I do trust him to not hurt me, sprained toe excepted. He let me work from the top.

Drilling was cut-through guard pass to pop-up armbar. Drilled with Jess. One more round, with your drilling partner.

Then Yoshi and Brandon were put out on the mat for a Shark Tank. A couple of guys went, then Will got out with Brandon. During a takedown, Will’s already injured knee turned funny, and he went down screaming. That cut class off short. They got him some ice, and once he felt he could make it, a couple of the guys took him to the emergency room. Hopefully it’s not too serious.

Tomorrow night is my first night with the kids. !!!! *cue panicking*

6 responses to “Tuesday, August 17, 2010

  1. Laura says:

    Oh man! I hate it when my training partners get hurt and have the trip to the ER. I’ve got my fingers crossed for your friend.

    You’ll do fine with the kids. Just keep them moving.

  2. BJJJudo says:

    Good luck with the kids. Dont let them walk all over you. If they are young they might test you to see what they can get away with, set the tone early.

  3. Jen Stewart says:

    Don’t panic! Have fun with the kids.

  4. Kintanon says:

    Just remember, if one of the kids starts crying you get all up in there face and start screaming, “THERE IS NO CRYING IN JIUJITSU!” and then make them run laps. I learned all of my parenting skillz from television and they always have happy endings!

  5. reginadabean says:

    No panicking allowed!!! 🙂 Take deep breaths!

  6. leslie says:

    Thanks for the encouragement, everyone. My worrying was in vain, however: no kids showed up to class!

    So, that gives me another week to tweak lesson plans, and maybe even to get a practice teaching session after class one night. I’m mostly afraid that I’ll teach it wrong or miss something crucial.

Comments are closed.
