BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

I got beat by a girl!

on June 13, 2009

And
it
was
awesome
!!!

I got beat by quite a few girls, actually, both white and blue. (Blue belts — real girl blue belts!) Sweet!

Women’s Open Mat, Richmond BJJ. Girls came from Philly, from Northern Virginia, from Virginia Beach. Alaina Hardie even came from Toronto!

My friend lives west of Richmond, so I left about an hour and a half early to make sure I had enough time to get there. Glad I did: the Richmond high schools were having graduation today at the Siegel Center at VCU, which is right down the block from Richmond BJJ, so there were cops everywhere directing traffic, streets were closed, and there were tons of pedestrians. I kept missing seeing the school because of all the traffic and pedestrians. Drove around for about 30 minutes trying to find the school and then find parking. Finally saw it, got parked about a block away, and walked over.

There was a class from 12 – 2, before the open mat. I had really thought about going, but am also really trying to take my “June = recovery” seriously. So, I got there about 1:30 to watch the end of the class. Eric Burdo was just finishing up teaching; I met Liz and signed in as they started rolling.

I was so nervous! Silly, but I was. My hands were shaking so badly when I signed in. Most of the other girls had gone to the class and were already on the mat. As they got toward the end of class time and rolling, one of the girls, Lisa, asked if I wanted to roll.

She was strong! (They all were. And quick and had tremendous pressure! Holy moly!) Just trying to move and feel her out. Found myself in the first few rolls under side control and mount a lot. Huh. Same place I end up in my classes. Hmm. So, there must be something that I’m doing wrong — especially, probably, when starting off — that backs me up until I let myself be put under side control and mount. Very interesting…

Several rolls — maybe 5 or 6? I lost count — with more girls than I can remember. (So hot in there, though: tired so quickly. But kept going :P). Rolled with one blue, Thea, who showed me a sweep from under scarf hold — set your feet out to the open side and then do a sit-up in to them. Feet out of the way is important; otherwise, you stuff your own situp. And then she showed me a half-guard escape, and by “showed me” I mean she put more shoulder pressure in my jaw than Tim ever has. Whoa. And she was everywhere, fast and tight, and sliding through tiny openings.

Saw a lot of things in my rolling that I need to fix. Some stuff that Tim has pointed out; others, that I’d noticed. Mostly, I seem to have started assuming that I’m going to get steamrolled by the guys and have started playing very passive and really not even trying anything. Haven’t been using any pressure or intensity, because that usually gets a more severe backlash from my partners. … And yet all the girls today were rolling with pressure and intensity and intent. I wanna roll like that. And I bet they didn’t get to there by rolling like I’ve been rolling recently and only rolling up with girls.

But, oh, my goodness, so much fun. Got to talk to a lot of the girls, too. As I’ve learned many times before and learned once again, I’m not unusual; they’re all going through the same things as I am. We talked about tournaments, sandbagging, how to get and keep girls, finding gis that fit, hemp gis, and I forget what else. Lots of girl bonding stuff, which I usually don’t get to do, even outside of class. I had fun. 🙂

And I got a new gi! A black one, which is what I was missing. Chrissy Linzy had a black Lucky gi that had shrunk, so I bought it off her. Fits perfect. 😮 Won’t be able to wear it to class for a while because Justin is still enjoying his new Lucky gi‘s shiny invincibility aura. And the pants are more faded (lovely charcoal!) than the jacket, so I’ll have to start washing the jacket quite a bit to get a uniform color. By the time it’s faded, Justin’s gi may not mind the company.

There’s another Open Mat, co-ed, tomorrow afternoon at Revolution BJJ. Since I now have a clean gi to wear ;), I’m gonna go there before heading home.

6 responses to “I got beat by a girl!

  1. slideyfoot says:

    Cool – you got to train at the NHBGear place! Seems loads of Richmond people post on there, and they even have their own documentary, which is cool (second part here).

    Hemp gis are always intriguing too, though the ones I’ve seen so far tend to be rather pricey, especially with shipping to the UK. Current one I’m considering (well, when I next need a gi, which shouldn’t be anytime soon) is a $89 hemp/cotton blend, here. Only do it in A2 at the moment, but then that would probably fit me (normally I’m A2, though this one sounded a little bigger).

  2. leslie says:

    Yep, that’s the place. I’d seen the documentaries, so it was a little surreal to walk in there. Today’s Open Mat is at the US Grappling headquarters.

    The girl who makes The Green Gi, Addie (I think), was there yesterday, which is why we were talking about it. She had a prototype with her that some of the girls were rolling in. She’s very enthusiastic. 🙂

  3. ScottyOTM says:

    What size are those pants? If i have some in stock i will replace the black lucky gi pants with new ones for you so you will match and get you back on the mat.

    Scotty
    http://www.OntheMat.com
    http://www.myspace.com/luckygi

  4. leslie says:

    Scotty, thanks so much for the offer; that’s incredibly generous. However, I actually do like the charcoal look, so I’d rather trade for a faded jacket. 😉 No worries; it’ll hit the gi rotation soon.

    (Besides, one of my purple belts just bought a new black Lucky gi [which is stinkin’ SHARP, btw] and is the envy of the class. I probably need to give him a month or so in the Lucky spotlight before I bust mine ought, else I’ll be eating gogoplatas!)

  5. MMA says:

    I’m kinda regretting I read that. I’m sure there are girls out there that would beat me, hence why I avoid them 😛

  6. […] started with purple belt girls and worked down. Finally got to me and Lo, who I’d met at the Open Mat in Richmond last month and had rolled with several times then. I knew she’d be tough, and she […]

Leave a Reply

