BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

New Belt!

on April 30, 2009

I got my belt tonight! No, not that one — this one:

That is my embroidered black belt for Tae Kwon Do. I tested and passed for it 3.5 years ago. I finally got it tonight. Lots of reasons why it was delayed, and nothing I could do about any of it.

It’s a size too big (reaches to my knees!), and I’ll probably only wear it once, to TKD testing tomorrow night. But I got it!


Very small class tonight. University classes are wrapping up and exams are starting or getting ready to.

Rolling to warm up. Started with Tim. Had some decent hip movement at points, though mostly I think I was just trying to do the same things over and over. At one point, he was trying to take my back and I did something like a sitting turtle, leaning forward and tucking my elbows in; he got his arms hooked in and just lifted me up and back and then started laughing and said I was very portable. Got absolutely squashed when I tried to sink a guillotine; had to let it go and let him pass; then he said that was what we were working tonight. Lucky me again. Did get back to guard a time or two, not that he stayed there for long.

Adam next. Watching for that D’Arce and defending it. Underneath a lot. Did get to guard a few times. Even had a few bump sweeps, though couldn’t hold mount afterward. Trying to remember to breathe. Moving, I thought, fairly well. I think I even had another sweep in there at one point. And I did think of submissions, but was defending so much that I wasn’t able to get anything of my own off.

Drilling was the guillotine defense that Tim smothered me with. Drilled with Yoshi. We were both surprised when, while holding the guillotine, we nearly had to tap. Terribly amusing, though. Seriously, there comes a time in that escape when the guy on the bottom just lets go and says, “Get out.”

One more roll, with Justin. At least 20 minutes. Muy awesome. Had some sweeps, some passes (though he was giving me lots of trouble on those), and a shallow Peruvian necktie (was thinking too much about catching the armbar off it and so didn’t give the Peruvian its due). Got to side control and mount, and even has his back once, though mostly working from my guard or under half-guard; actually, caught in top half-guard quite a few times, with Lockdown. Couldn’t quite work out how to get out, though I think I did manage it once. Had quite a few escapes from bicep and calf pinches and leg locks and one from rubber guard; caught in a couple of armlocks (too fast & tight to try the hitchhiker, though I think I did get it off once) and one D’Arce that he was determined to get (had defended several others with Nick and Adam’s tips). As with Adam, I did think of submissions, but, except for the Peruvian necktie, didn’t have much chance to try them; he was making me keep up.

When I got home, I had a voicemail from one of the TKD guys, telling me that I should come to class tonight because he had something that I’ve been waiting on. Had to dig my TKD gi out of storage (!) and then headed over there.

They have testing tomorrow night, after Open Mat, and several alumni are supposed to be coming in. Plus, I can finally wear my belt! So I’ll head over that way after Open Mat tomorrow.

5 responses to “New Belt!

  1. Alex says:

    Congratulation on your black belt. What are your thoughts on TKD now that you are just taking Jiu Jitsu?

  2. Georgette says:

    Congrats on the (long ago earned) new belt 🙂

  3. leslie says:

    @Alex: I like jiu-jitsu better, I think because it’s much more active. Every class is challenging in one way or another, and I can’t just sit back and coast through a class (which I could get away with in TKD. Shh! Don’t tell.). If I try to coast in jiu-jitsu, I’m getting choked out!

    Could also be that I became more involved in the social side of BJJ than I did with TKD, so I feel more connected, more comfortable, more at home with the people around me in BJJ than in TKD.

    @Georgette: Thanks 🙂

  4. […] block my hips and get me back to his guard. He caught a guillotine at one point; I tried the guillotine defense from a few weeks ago, but couldn’t get my arm far enough over his back to prevent him from […]

  5. […] but couldn’t finish them. I think they weren’t deep enough to start with. He was trying the guillotine defense from awhile back, but his shoulder was on my shoulder instead of in my chin/throat. The first one, […]

Leave a Reply

