BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Not BJJ post

on October 8, 2008

So my company is “restructuring.” My job was structured out. We were all called it for a last minute, mandatory meeting. They were really nice about it, and they’re doing everything they can to help us.

The HR Director began with, “There’s no easy way to say this. This is not the good meeting to be in.”

About 30 of us were terminated, though only about 15 were in the same meeting I was in. The meeting was short, we were given an envelope of papers, and then we were taken back to our respective departments to get our stuff.

They did it by major departments. The people who were not being let go were also called in to a meeting at the same time; they probably got a longer presentation about the company’s “new direction.” I think those involved in coordinating these meetings were also making sure that those staying were in their meeting while the rest of us collected our stuff. Which was good, because I wasn’t doing so well and couldn’t have faced seeing anyone else.

Tried not to break down when the HR Director began, but it was hard. I know there were some tears that got through. And I had to ask someone a question later, and could barely talk.

I really liked this company and the people I worked with. I’d been there about 2 years. There hasn’t been much work for me to do over the last three months, which, from the little I remember of the meeting today, is when the problems that led to the restructuring started. I’d asked my supervisor for more work several times, and had even asked if there were any other departments I could work with. He always said he’d get back to me but never did… I guess I was on the chopping block even then.

So a day of getting myself together, and then I have to start updating my resume and looking for a new job. Know anyone looking for a BJJ-addicted writer/editor?

*sigh*

4 responses to “Not BJJ post

  1. slideyfoot says:

    Man, that sucks. Wish I could help! 😦

  2. leslie says:

    Thanks. I’ll be okay — I have BJJ (cheesy as that sounds). My dad left me a column from Runner’s World, in which the writer had lost his job and immediately went out running. Yesterday, all I wanted to do was roll. I just need to decide what I want to do now, besides more BJJ!

  3. Steve says:

    Wow… good luck!

  4. leslie says:

    Thanks, Steve. I’m putting applications in and letting people know that I’m looking. Now I’m just waiting on those phone calls…

Leave a Reply

