BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Weekend with Slideyfoot

on April 21, 2014

How was your Easter weekend? Good? Great. Mine? Mine was… quite a bit surreal.

Thursday

Thursday afternoon/evening, drove down to Norfolk to meet up with some jiu-jitsu people who I’m lucky to hang out with frequently — Addie, Chrissy & Brian, MikeByrd, and Val Worthington — and one new face who I’ve “known” just as long: Can Sönmez, aka, Slideyfoot.

Friday

Can and I both stayed with Addie, so Friday morning we got a behind-the-scenes look at The Green Gi. Friday afternoon the entire gang headed to Antwain Britt’s Olympus Fitness & Martial Arts for some rolling. (We had tried to find an Open Mat, but then realized that we ourselves were a walking Open Mat, just in need of mats. So we found mats.)

Open Mat amongst ourselves (I am failing at embedding images today) – l to r: Chrissy, Brian, MikeByrd, Addie, Antwain, me, Can, Val

I rolled more then that I’ve rolled in the last 3 weeks, whew. Two with Can, two with Val, two with MikeByrd (I think. Or one. I dunno. Brain cells were starting to short out.), and one each with everyone else (including Antwain and Brian, which were as hilarious as you might expect. Apparently I’m small or something…?). For whatever reason I was fixated on getting Hillary Williams’ grip, but I did absolutely nothing with it after that. But Chrissy told me that I was meaner, so yay! And the better part of that is that in my own head I was berating myself for not being mean enough, so that means that even my baseline is better. So yay!

We had planned to train Friday night as well, but then all decided that we were tired and old and hungry, so it was dinner and board games for the night.

Saturday

Saturday, Addie’s coach Dave “The Rock” Jacobs was doing a seminar at Tidewater Academy, so Addie, Can, and I went there. I love seminars where something in the warmup gets my attention: sideways rolls down the mat, but not Granby’s; instead, simulating a butterfly sweep, but post on your head, far arm, and outside knee, then slide under & through to scarf hold. Ooooooo….

Dave also went over the inverted armbar that we were working in class last week. (Shoulder sammich!) Nice transition to an americana sweep if they bring their arm in front. Then some work around an opponent turtling, eventually going to crucifix. (And then if they sit up, you can flow right back into the front shoulder lock from the turtle earlier, and then crucifix, and then and then and then…) And finally some wristlocks. I want to try that one from side control, though I’m expecting someone to say, “Oh, hang on, my wrist is caught here.” Um, yeah, cuz I has caught it. Now, tap.

There was more; I wrote it down, but don’t remember at the moment (which is why I write it down…).

Finished off the seminar by rolling with one of the in-house blue belts. He uses the same Hillary Williams’ grip, but also uses it for spider guard, which makes for some pretty sweeps. Must try!

Funny moment before the seminar: we’re standing around changing/waiting, and a guy walks up to Can. “Excuse me, but are you… Slideyfoot?” He had been reading through some of Can’s online stuff, and so was rather flabbergasted to see the man who wrote it all standing in an academy in Virginia, lol.

After the seminar, we cleaned up & met with everyone else. After dinner, though, I headed home to spend Easter Sunday with my family. All yesterday I kept thinking, “Wait, did that just happen?” but the piles of laundry and the photos on Facebook seem to prove that it did.

(Today, though, I am tapping out to allergies. Boo hiss.)

3 responses to “Weekend with Slideyfoot

  1. slideyfoot says:

    Ha – yeah, always fun when that happens. Mini-fame is cool. ;p

    I had a brilliant time meeting, chatting and training with you all, so I definitely want to come back to Virginia. Hopefully next time I’ll be able to head over to your home academy, as I’d love to experience it after reading about the club for so many years. :)

  2. David Jacobs says:

    Glad you enjoyed the seminar! Please visit (and train) the next time you’re in Northern Virginia.

  3. Sarah says:

    Its getting clearer to me that folks who do BJJ are universally pretty fun and goofy. I’d thought that was just my club… ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 184 other followers

